Action Packed Week

6 Aug

The word of this week seems to have been “Erotisch” and you can probably guess it’s English translation. Last week I mentioned that whilst at the park there was a bit of nudity going on. Well, one of my good friends commented on the blog and was in slight disbelief that these shenanigans were taking place in the city in a public park…so I got evidence for her whilst on a walk. Then…it didn’t seem to matter what public toilet I went in to, be it a train station or at the bar on Saturday night, there seemed to be sex toy vending machines with each toy costing about 4 euro. I get vending machines having women’s monthly aid items or protective sex sheaths but sex toys??? Either there is a lot of action going on in public places that I’ve not yet been privy to or these Germans are a little warped. It’s not like there aren’t a billion shops around that sell these items, and when I’m looking for a massage here I have to look specifically for “non sexual” in the search, so there’s no shortage of good times around.

This week was a good one. Let me hit briefly the week day activities before getting to our unreal weekend. Mark was away on Tuesday and Wednesday nights so I amused myself and caught up with some friends – one afternoon for a long coffee session, and the next night for dinner and a movie! Yep, a movie. In English but it’s the first movie I’ve been to since living in Germany. I went and saw Ted with my Swedish/Aussie friend Malin and it was actually really very funny. It’s got Mark Wahlberg and Mila Kunis in it and is done by the same guys from the cartoon Family Guy so it’s a similar kind of humour. It wasn’t Magic Mike unfortunately, but holy hell I can’t wait for that one to come out as that will be movie excursion number 2 and I will need a cup of ice instead of popcorn for that one. Another first was the massage I got earlier on Wednesday which was out of this world. It’s been over a year since my last one so it was very much required and pure bliss. I am making that a task that must be done once a month. I finally got my husband back on Thursday night and loved having him home to make the house feel complete again.

So now we arrive at our weekend. On Friday afternoon Mark and I went Sky Diving… unreal banana peel! What a great experience! So much fun and what a way to view the world. Kind of like your hanging outside from an airplane – not the free falling part but the parachute part. The free falling part you just feel like a piece of bird poop being thrown the the ground with the pressure building up in your ears and your face flying around as you try to take in the view whilst fighting the wind at speed and falling through the clouds. Seriously wicked. We jumped tandem with instructors and went up to 4000m. You’ve got no time to hesitate as once that door opens people are falling out every 10 seconds and you just go, no questions asked. Pretty unreal though when you’re still in the plane watching the others jump out how quickly they just drop out, like a piece of dust in the wind. If you want to have a look at our videos you can go to these links to YouTube:

Markie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NhtSwA_n5o8

Ali: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PpNNEAiwTb8

It was all over so quickly. We went up in the plane at 3:30pm and were one ground waiting for our videos by 4:15pm. Couldn’t believe that 15 minutes prior we were jumping out of a plane, it all happened so fast. Anyway, Friday night staying in for dinner was a bit of a let down compared to a few hours earlier.

Normally we may only get out 1 day per weekend as we are both couch potatoes a bit and one day is generally enough as well as the weather not usually being good both days. Saturday we had our usual sleep in…ahhhh…then slowly got up and moved around. We went for a little peddle into town to a furniture store to look at couches which are more comfortable than the one we currently have, not really difficult, a milk crate would be more comfortable but we only have a limited space and budget to work with so we went to see what our options were. After that we kept riding to “the big bitch” statue as Mark and I call her and her official name is the “Statue of Bavaria.” We have only seen her from a distance before so thought we’d get up close and personal. Whilst there we also got to see the Oktoberfest grounds being built with all the beer halls being assembled with still about 6 weeks to go until the official opening. Can’t wait for the actual event this year as we’ve got some tables booked with friends in the beer halls so it’s going to rock.

Saturday night we headed out to a Lebanese restaurant with our fun friends Anita and Nik. The food was so good and once we had enough there we decided to go to another couple of bars in the area. The first we went to was age appropriate and then as we got more intoxicated we headed over to the age inappropriate one called Peaches that served Exotische cocktails (you getting the hang of German now.. if it ends in “…ic” in English it’s effectively the same word but ends in “isch/e” here. I actually have no idea it just seems to be the case in at least 3 instances I know of). At Peaches Mark ordered a Martini where the bartender asked us “what is the ratio?” – Hmmm, maybe hold the Martini and lets go with one of these Exotische Cocktails that tasted a lot like strong syrupy candy water. Terrible but they did the job and we were all quite merry by the end of a very fun night which saw Mark and I ride our bikes through the pitch black English Gardens at 1am with no idea what was half a metre in front of us. We were both laughing hysterically which was probably the alcohol coming through as usually I would be a bit nerve racked but we got home safe and sound.

Sunday was another glorious day and we decided to take our good road bikes for a 40km ride to Lake Stanberg and have a bit of a swim, a sunbake, some lunch, more sun, more swimming and then ride back home. It was a perfect mix of a day and I absolutely loved it down at the Lake. I had never been there before but now I want to go every weekend whilst Summer is here as it was just beautiful and there are a great number of water sports that you can participate in as well. We had ridden through Odeonsplatz on our way home which is only a 5 minute walk from our front door and saw they had a wine and cheese festival on there so after we waited for the new-come monster storm to pass we headed back in to check it out.

Yes, I have to say last week was very satisfying and felt good arriving at Monday feeling relaxed but that we still go to achieve some things. Tomorrow my cousin is racing in the Mens Kayak 4 (K4) 1000m in the Olympics so I’m going to be glued either to the TV or internet for results, whichever makes it possible for me to see the action.

If you work for a bank I hope you enjoyed the long weekend and for everyone who doesn’t, well, sorry bout your luck. Hope you all have a good week ahead regardless.

Till next time…..xx

6 Responses to “Action Packed Week”

  1. Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 7, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    who says sex sheath???? Hahahahahaha.

    • Ali Hodges August 7, 2012 at 10:43 am #

      hahaha I wanted something to use other than condom.

  2. Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 7, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    prophylactic?

    • Ali Hodges August 7, 2012 at 10:58 am #

      That just gives me a headache figuring out how to say that

  3. Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 7, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    Hey Hoggo, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award because I love you. You’re the only blog I truly follow so you have to be on my list!
    http://keepingupwiththeholsbys.com/2012/08/08/im-a-winner-baby-id-like-to-thank-the-academy/

    • Ali Hodges August 7, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      Thanks so much beautiful! I saw that, that’s lovely of you 🙂 Hopefully other people find my tales as entertaining as you xxxx

Leave a Reply

