It Was Cold!!!

18 Dec

Last week was freezing… -5, -8, -12, you get the drift…and there was some of that too…wind chill. Brrrr! Anyway we made it through and this week we are back in the positives which means there won’t be snow falling and the snow that we did have is now all melted. I was pretty impressed I didn’t stack it as it got pretty icy later in the week and even though I did skate a little I didn’t fall.

Last week I tried out this London Tea House with a friend for breakfast on Monday near the Viktualienmarkt. It serves poached eggs…and that is one of the very few places here that do so I’m pretty happy I was introduced to it. Not only do they serve poached eggs but they also have on their menu scones with jam, cream and lemon curd. How could I not have a serving of that after finishing breakfast?! That’s right, I can’t not…so I did. So good!

Wednesday night I was out again for dinner with Malin and we went to a Thai restaurant. There is not the same calibre of Asian restaurants here as there is in Aus as to be expected but this one wasn’t too bad and it was more just a good reason for us to catch up. We thought we’d give the movies a miss after our last experience and there also wasn’t really anything good playing at the English cinema.

That was about it for weekdays and social activity for me. I had a few things to get done at home which kept me occupied to make everything nice in time for Markie’s arrival on Friday evening back from Amsterdam. We had his work Christmas party on that night too which we got to late since Mark didn’t get home from the airport until after 8 and then by the time we were ready we’d heard from a colleague that everyone was sitting down to eat so we thought we’d make a late entrance and join the festivities after the formalities were over. It wasn’t bad…I mean it wasn’t good but are work Christmas parties ever good?! It was better than last year as we knew a few more people and had built friendly relationships with some of them so it wasn’t just small talk about the weather and every single person asking us how we liked Germany since now we’ve been here almost 15 months. We stayed out until about 230am and saw it was all dying in the arse a little and came home.

Saturday we really didn’t do anything much but head into the city in the afternoon. We went back to the Tea House I mentioned earlier…and I was going to go for another serving of scones but instead opted for the sticky date pudding. I think that has got to be one of my favourite desserts, oh with that caramel sauce…mmmmm. Mark also had a look for some snowboarding gear as I battled the jungle of tourists and locals alike through the centre of town to get some groceries that I can’t get from the usual supermarkets. No way to get me wanting to punch someone in the face like a crowd of people who don’t know which direction they’re walking. We just stayed home for dinner and I cooked.

Markie went snowboarding with a friend/colleague on Sunday for his first time this season. They were gone from about 7:30am until 4:30pm and the resort, Christlum, they went to is about an hour drive away so they got in a decent session. Apparently to start with it wasn’t so good as it was pretty icy and then the sun was out so the middle part of the day was better and then it was just sludgy so back to crap but he said it was good to dust off his board and have a bit of a play. When he got home he was exhausted and could barely keep his eyes open so I’d say it was a successful trip. Meanwhile, I decided it was a perfect day to bake and made a chocolate and caramel cheesecake which is so good it’s bad but I had to do something that was excessive since I haven’t been able to bake now that Markie is working in Amsterdam and can’t clear the house of the goods any more. Now I am left with this bloody cheesecake staring at me every time I open the fridge. I fear I may need to throw it out before I eat it all.

So this is the last week that Markie has to work and then we have 2 weeks together…yay! I’m so excited to be able to spend more time with him. We are off to the Swiss Alps on Saturday morning for 5 days for Christmas and we’ll be there for my 30th too. So looking forward to it. I have a couple of catchups and things to do in preparation over the next few days for our time away in terms of food shopping and getting everything ready. We also just got news that Rocco can come with us so I’m so excited he will be able to spend Christmas with us.

I won’t be writing next week as we won’t have internet and it will also be just before Christmas so I will sign off by wishing you all a Very Merry Christmas. I hope you have some wonderful celebrations with family and friends and that the sun is shining and it’s a spectacular day. If you’re not already on holidays you’ve only got 3 more days until a bit of time off…not long and you can have a break. I will post the week after though and give a run-down of our time in Switzerland.

Till next time…..xx

Leave a Reply

