Australia Day and Farewell Party

28 Jan

Hey peeps, I know it’s been 2 weeks since I last wrote but I honestly had nothing to say for the one in between and I respect your time too much than to blow smoke up your arse with 5 minutes of meaningless chatter.

So I mentioned in my last post that we may be moving…well now we are definitely moving and it has all happened pretty quickly. Mark was hired to start on a project for an automotive company which is operating out of Zurich, Switzerland with go-lives in Lichtenstein and Detroit, USA (I think it’s there) and will continue until the end of this year. Markie starts working there on Feb 4th so this is his last week on his current project in Amsterdam and will be in Zurich the first week of Feb and off to the States in the 2nd week…lucky bugger. He should be going fairly frequently though so I am definitely going to piggy back off one of those trips so we can do a nice long weekend and maybe even a week in New York!

Our lease is up at our current place in Munich at the end of March so we will take a couple of months to transition our lives over. In that time we need to find a place to live as well in Zurich and in a not too pricey area which may be a challenge to find a good place in a good area that is really affordable since Zurich is an extremely costly city. We are staying on secondment we have also just been told and that was up in the air for a week or so with HR debating if we would stay on secondment or have Mark join the Swiss office and sign a contract with them but now we know our situation is staying as is so even though some of our accommodation costs will be covered we will probably have to pay the difference to live in a place we really like.

That’s our news on our relocation front. After 18 months in Munich which was extended from an initial 6 months, we are finally moving on to a new city to discover and call home for roughly 10 months (to start with but only time will tell).

This past weekend we had an Australia Day party at our place, which I guess also turned into a bit of a farewell party, and it was really great to see everyone dress up and make the effort to match the themed dress code. Markie and Rocco came as convicts and I went as Julia Gillard. I had a witch’s nose to make it more believable but it kept coming off so most of the photos have me without it. All our guests looked fabulous but the costumes of the night have to go to our friends and sisters Noemi and Tiffany who rocked up dressed as Mark and I. It was awesome and we were very flattered 🙂 Thanks guys.

I started the cooking on Thursday as we had Australian grub and tucker for the night. I think I have finally learnt that making enough for the number of people coming is too much and to stick to half because we now have a fair bit of food left over but lucky a lot of it is freezable. I was able to order meat pies and sausage rolls online which arrived in dry ice and frozen about a week before so I just had to heat them up but we also had Aussie burgers, Sausage Sangers, Chicken Salad, Quinoa & Roast Pumpkin salad, Bean Avo & Tomato Salad, Vegemite Sandwiches, Jello Shots, Fruit Salad, Anzac Cookies, Lamingtons and Pavlovas and then I ordered online some Tim Tams, Burger Rings, Chicken Twisties, Allens Snakes & Frogs, Kool Mints, Minties and Fantales and we bought in a case of Little Creatures beer so honestly besides bbqing a bunch of steaks or lamb, which our place is just not built for, I don’t know what more we could have done for aussie food.

Everyone left suitably pissed and we sent our inflatable Crocodile home with a good carer but the rest of the decorations survived surprisingly. It was a good night and I think everyone had a good time. We spent Sunday cleaning and washing up etc and getting the place looking back to normal before flopping on the couch to watch Django Unchained and settled on leftovers for breakfast, lunch and dinner. At least I don’t have to cook this week so that’s a bonus!

That’s about it for the past week. This coming one is business as usual and I have some catch-ups with friends and then Mark will be home for probably his last long weekend for some time so we were thinking we may head to Zurich to check out some of the possible areas we could live so we can begin the house hunting adventure as soon as possible. I would rather we have a lease overlap of a couple of weeks than be frantic until the end trying to find a place and then not have one in either city.

So that’s all from us for now but I will be in touch next week to update you on our move news and anything else that pops up this week.

Hope you all had a great Australia Day and partied hard! Enjoy the last week of January!

Till next time…..xx

3 Responses to “Australia Day and Farewell Party”

  1. Steven Melb January 28, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    Julia Gillard, haha that was hilarious! I now realise what I like most about your posts and that is when you talk about all of the food that you have been cooking. I’m salivating at 10am thinking about the Quinoa and Pumpkin salad – YUM!

    • Ali Hodges January 28, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

      Thanks bud! Nice message. Glad you like reading about my cooking 🙂

      Sounds like things are moving for u…nice one.

  2. Keeping Up With The Holsbys January 28, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

    I can totally see you yodeling on a mountain top!!!
    Big changes and exciting times for my favorite piggies.

    How hilarious that your friends came as you guys. Genius!!

Leave a Reply

